Canada-Heros Logo

Military Cross
   Military Cross

The Military Cross can be awarded to commissioned officers of the substantive rank of Captain or below (therefore acting and temporary Majors are eligible) or Warrant Officers for distinguished and meritorious services in battle. In 1920, the terms were altered to clearly state the award was for gallant and distinguished services in action and that naval and air force officers could be awarded the cross for gallant and distinguished services on the ground.

Photo and description courtesy of
Veterans Affairs Canada

Back Button
Last Updated: January 25, 2003
Canada-Heros/Don Jones 2003